Privacy and Confidentiality

Privacy and confidentiality are very important in today’s new media today. There are also alot of issues associated with it. Social networking is a part of new media that is interconnected with these issues .Networking sites like Myspace and Facebook target users with  privacy and confidentiality concerns. People usually disclose and expose unnecessary information to the general public that of which can backfire against them. Because individuals have been carelessly revealing such information as their phone numbers, addresses, sibling names, birthdays, and many more, this revelation may lead to identity theft and harm the individual or their loved ones. Also, the providing personal information may lead to stalking, sexual harassment, and other types of potential attacks that can invade their privacy. More over we are exposed to the tageted marketing as most of the companies use information provided by users . Because new media is taking our identities and privacy to a new level, the community must be aware of the privacy settings and options that are available for them in order to manage their profile so that it remains exclusive only to their friends, families, and the people they know. There are other options to block others from seeing anything from your profile as well (including profile pictures) and the disabling of messaging and commenting on your profile page. In this way, information remains secured and confidential, and privacy is kept safe.

About azizabdullayev

My name is Aziz . I'm a senior at Baruch majoring in Accounting at the moment ,however if i don't meet the requirements for the accounting department I will probably change my major to Finance.The reason i'm taking this course is because my minor is IT and Social Responsibility .I've been at Baruch since fall 2010,transfered from KCC with CIS major . After this term hopefully I will have about 10 course left. I can't wait to graduate. My goal is become a CPA . I'm currently working full time that is why when I ACC3202 professor told me that there is online course this summer for my minor I could not miss it ,So here I am .Basically I'm easy going person but not very talkative,I love soccer I've been playing since I was very 12 .I'm also a die hard fan i watch almost every big game and almost go to the stadium when my favorite team Man Utd comes US.In my spare time I like working on cars in a backyard .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment