Blogs vs Wiki’s

  A blog can be compared to a journal but only in online web based  version . The activity of updating a blog is “blogging” and someone who keeps a blog is a “blogger.” Blogs are can be  updated daily , it is very easy to maintain the blog even people with little or no technical background can update and maintain the blog with in few minutes. Postings on a blog are almost always arranged in chronological order with the most recent additions featured most prominently.

   Wiki’s are very similar to a blogs in structure and logic, a wiki allows anyone to edit, delete or modify content that has been placed on the Web site using a browser interface.

The main difference between Blogs and Wiki’s is that A wiki allows multiple users to create, modify and organize web page content in a collaborative manner while blog posts are usually one persons’ opinion more over  blogs  are maintained by one person which is the author.

 Blogs help author to share what he is doing.Blogs can indirectly stimulate collaboration by educating others about author’s area of expertise, who may then apply these ideas to their own.Blogs can also be very helpful in delivering new information or rating out the criminals.According to the article in New York Times “Brooklyn Blog Helps Lead to Drug Raid” blogs helped NYPD to crack down a crack houses in Bay Ridge.

Nowadays wiki’s has become significantly important for business.According to the article “How to use Wiki’s for business” wiki has become a killer application for the companies Companies can use wiki’s in their projects as  Wikis are designed to facilitate the exchange of information within and between people. “Wikis can centralize all types of corporate data, such as spreadsheets, Word documents, PowerPoint slides, PDF. It does not require special knowledge to work on but most importantly it cost is almost nothing compared to an expensive enterprise application that would require  sophisticated information management.

 

 

About azizabdullayev

My name is Aziz . I'm a senior at Baruch majoring in Accounting at the moment ,however if i don't meet the requirements for the accounting department I will probably change my major to Finance.The reason i'm taking this course is because my minor is IT and Social Responsibility .I've been at Baruch since fall 2010,transfered from KCC with CIS major . After this term hopefully I will have about 10 course left. I can't wait to graduate. My goal is become a CPA . I'm currently working full time that is why when I ACC3202 professor told me that there is online course this summer for my minor I could not miss it ,So here I am .Basically I'm easy going person but not very talkative,I love soccer I've been playing since I was very 12 .I'm also a die hard fan i watch almost every big game and almost go to the stadium when my favorite team Man Utd comes US.In my spare time I like working on cars in a backyard .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment